Blow Out At High Speed

hood_riverSixty miles per hour driving down interstate 84 at 10:30 pm, just west of Hood River, Oregon. BOOM. The right front tire of our Freightliner Semi had a blow out. We had enough diesel to make it to the TA truck stop in Troutdale, we didn’t make it.  My wife, who was driving limped the truck over to the side of the interstate. Fortunately she was able to stop at an off ramp. There we were, the middle of January during an ice storm in the Columbia River Gorge, on the side of the interstate with the truck leaning to the right. Wouldn’t you know it the fuel moved from the left tank, the tank the engine use most, to the lower right tank making the engine stop.

coldNo engine running means no heater to keep warm and its 17 degrees outside. We were bundled in our winter weather duds waiting for the TA Service Squad to come change our tire. Needless to say we were going nowhere fast, or slow however you want to look at it. At first my attitude sucked. I was upset with myself because I could have stopped further up the interstate and purchased fuel to easily make it to the TA Truck Stop in Troutdale.  Instead I had my wife continue on just to save a few dollars in the cost of diesel.

That’s when my wife scolded me. “Quit your whining, we made it to the side of the road safely”.

bad attitudeI realized she was right once again, as she was most of the time, and I needed to change my attitude. I began to speak of how thankful I was for her driving skills, the truck to keep us out of the ice storm and wind and each other to keep warm and company with. With this change of attitude it did not seem to take nearly as long for the Service Squad to arrive, fix the tire and allow us to head on down the interstate to the TA Truck Stop to park for the night.

Since that time I have come to realize that to allow a negative attitude to fill my mind will only allow the situation to continue. Yet, as I begin to dwell on the positive aspects of life and have a positive attitude I am able to move forward towards my dreams and goals. When I have displayed a positive attitude I have been able to draw people around me to help me reach my dreams and goals. Use this same attitude adjustment and you will see progress as well.

Until Next Time….

PC16

Perry

 

 

This entry was posted in Reflection, Self Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment